[Acpc-l] Call for participation: ISPASS-2001

ispass01@parapet.ee.princeton.edu ispass01@parapet.ee.princeton.edu
Wed, 17 Oct 2001 17:05:38 -0400

[Our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this e-mail.]

         C A L L   F O R   P A R T I C I P A T I O N

   IEEE International Symposium on Performance Analysis of
                     Systems and Software

                      November 4-6, 2001
                       Tucson, Arizona

You are invited to join us at the 2001 IEEE International
Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software. This
annual international conference provides a forum for sharing
advanced and well-established academic and industrial R&D work
focused on performance analysis in the design of systems and
software. It is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society's Technical
Committee on Internet, Technical Committee on Computer
Architecture, and Technical Committee on Microprogramming and
Microarchitecture. The conference will feature a top quality
technical program and will take place at the Westward Look Resort
Hotel in Tucson, AZ.

For more information on ISPASS, please visit our web site at:


Tilman Wolf and David Brooks,
Publicity Co-Chairs, ISPASS-2001


Advance Program

Sunday, November 4:

9:00 AM-12:30 AM: Tutorial I
Testing and Validating RTOS
Martin Timmerman (Dedicated Systems, Inc.)

2:00 PM-5:30 PM: Tutorial II
Simics-a fast, multi-target, portable, full system simulator
Peter Magnusson (virtutech)

Monday, November 5:

7:30 AM-9:00 AM: Registration

9:00 AM-9:15 AM: Welcome and Introduction of Keynote Speaker

9:15 AM-10:15 AM: Keynote Address

EV8: Design, Modeling and Little's Law
Dr. Joel Emer (Intel Corp.)

10:15 AM-10:40 AM: Coffee Break

10:40 AM-12:00 PM: Session 1: Processor-Level Modeling and Analysis

MASE: a novel infrastructure for detailed microarchitectural modeling
Eric Larson, Saugata Chatterjee, Todd Austin (University of Michigan)

Early design stage power-performance modeling through statistical simulation
Lieven Eeckhout, Koen De Bosschere (Ghent University, Belgium)

Performance analysis using pipeline visualization
Chris Weaver, Kenneth C. Barr, Eric D. Marsman, Dan Ernst, Todd Austin (University of Michigan)

12:00 PM-2 PM: Lunch Break

2:00 PM-3:50 PM: Session 2: Software (OS) Performance Analysis

Implementation and evaluation of a best-effort scheduling algorithm in an embedded real-time system
Peng Li, Binoy Ravindran, Tamir Hegazy (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)

An evaluation of POSIX trace standard implemented in RT-Linux
Andrés Terrasa, Ignacio Pachés, Ana García-Fornes (Universidad Polytéchnica de Valencia, Spain)

A cycle-accurate per-thread timer for Linux operating system
Yang Qian, Witawas Srisa-an, Therapon Skonitiotis, J. Morris Chang (Illinois Institute of Technology)

About the sensitivity of the HLRC-DU protocol to the diff and page sizes
Salvador Petit, Julio Sahuquillo, Ana Pont (Universidad Polytéchnica de Valencia, Spain)

3:50 PM-4:15 PM: Coffee Break

4:15 PM-5:15 PM: Session 3: E-Business: Workloads and Systems

Geist: a generator of E-Commerce and Internet server traffic
Krishna Kant, Vijay Tewari, Ravi Iyer (Intel Corporation)

Performance characterization of multi-tier E-Business systems using queuing operational systems
Deep K. Buch, Vladimir M. Pentkovski (Intel Corporation)

Tuesday, November 6:

8:00 AM-9:00 AM: Session 4: Control-Flow Characterization

Understanding the control flow transfer and its predictability in Java Processing
Tao Li, Lizy Kurian John (University of Texas at Austin)

The effects of context switching on branch predictor performance
Michele Co, Kevin Skadron (University of Virginia)

9:00 AM-9:30 AM: Coffee Break

9:30 AM-11:00 AM: Session 5: Memory Characterization I

Evaluating internal memory fragmentation for Java programs
Therapon Skotiniotis, J. Morris Chang (Illinois Institute of Technology)

An evaluation of search tree techniques in the presence of caches
Costin Iancu, Anurag Acharya (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Automatic memory hierarchy characterization
CLark L. Coleman, Jack W. Davidson (University of Virginia)
11:00 AM-11:10 AM: Break

11:10 AM-12:00 PM: Session 6: Memory Characterization II

Increasing file prediction accuracy with program- and user-based last successors
Tsozen Yeh, Darrell D. E. Long, Scott A. Brandt (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Efficient profile-based evaluation of randomising set index functions for cache memories
Hans Vandierendonck, Koen De Bosschere (Ghent University, Belgium)

12:00 PM-2 PM: Lunch Break

2 PM-3:20 PM: Session 7: Systems and Servers

Workload characterization of multithreaded Java servers
Yue Luo, Lizy Kurian John (University of Texas at Austin)

Behavior and performance/scalability of interactive multiplayer internet game servers
Ahmed Abdelkhalek, Angelos Bilas, Andreas Moshovos (University of Toronto)

Parallel simulation of multiprocessor execution: implementation and results for simplescalar
Naraig Manjikian (Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario)

3:20 PM-3:40 PM: Coffee Break

3:40 PM-4:30 PM: Session 8: Scheduling and Verification

Locality-aware predictive scheduling of network processors
Tilman Wolf, Mark A. Franklin (Washington University in St. Louis)

Statistical usage testing applied to mobile network verification
Alexander Ost, Dorien van Logchem (Ericson Eurolab, Germany)

4:30 PM-5:50 PM: Session 9: Advanced Microarchitectures and their Evaluation

Balancing throughput and fairness in SMT processors
Kun Luo, Jayanth Gummaraju, Manoj Franklin (University of Maryland)

An empirical study of the scalability aspects of instruction distribution algorithms for clustered processors
Aneesh Aggarwal, Manoj Franklin (University of Maryland)

How to compare the performance of two SMT microarchitectures
Yiannakis Sazeides (University of Cyprus), Toni Juan (Universitat Politéchnica de Catalunya)

5:50 PM: Closing Remarks

Organizing Committee

General Chair:
Jo Dale Carothers (University of Arizona)

Technical Program Chair:
Pradip Bose (IBM Research)

Finance Chair:
Nadeem Malik (IBM Corp.)

Web and Publicity Co-Chairs:
David Brooks (Princeton University)
Tilman Wolf (Washington University)

Tutorial and Panel Co-Chairs:
Kathy Jackson (IBM Corp.)
Tom Puzak (IBM Research)

Publications Chair:
Craig Chase (University of Texas at Austin)

Registration Chair:
Nasr Ullah (Motorola)

Advisory Committee:
Frederica Darema (National Science Foundation)
Edward S. Davidson (University of Michigan)
Eric P. Kronstadt (IBM Corp.)
Mark McDermott (Intel Corp.)

Technical Program Committee

Pradip Bose (IBM Research), Chair
Dave Albonesi (University of Rochester)
Todd Austin (University of Michigan)
Bryan Black (Intel Corp.)
David Brooks (Princeton University)
Doug Burger (University of Texas)
Tom Conte (NC State University)
Antonio Gonzalez (UPC Barcelona)
Lizy John (University of Texas)
Dave Kaeli (Northeastern University)
Peter Magnusson (virtutech)
Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University)
Andreas Moshovos (University of Toronto)
Shubu Mukherjee (Compaq Corp.)
Jude Rivers (IBM Research)
Kevin Skadron (University of Virginia)
Martin Timmerman (Dedicated System Experts)
Nasr Ullah (Motorola)