[Acpc-l] Call for Papers Mascots2003

gk@tk.uni-linz.ac.at gk@tk.uni-linz.ac.at
Fri, 7 Mar 2003 15:14:02 +0100 (MET)

Our apologies if you have received multiple copies.

                              CALL FOR PAPERS

              The 11th IEEE/ACM* International Symposium on 
                     Modeling, Analysis and Simulation 
               of Computer and Telecommunication Systems

                       12 - 15 October 2003, Orlando (FL)
                      Venue: Orlando Airport Marriott

                        7499 Augusta National Drive
                             Orlando, FL 32822
 * IEEE/ACM- Approval Pending

     The scope of the symposium includes, but is not limited to:

[-] Computer Architecture Modeling and Simulation
[-] Parallel and Distributed Systems

[-] Real-Time and Multimedia Systems
[-] Internetworking Protocol and Performance
[-] Wireless and Mobile Networking and Computing
[-] Broadband and Telecommunication Networks and Software
[-] Network Traffic Studies
[-] Web-Based Systems
[-] Application areas such as databases
[-] Analysis Techniques and Formal Methods
[-] Benchmarking and Measurement Techniques
[-] Capacity Planning
[-] Performance Analysis and Validation Techniques

[-] Workload Characterization and Generation
[-] Discrete Event Simulation methodology and Tools
[-] Middleware Performance (Object Oriented, Parallel Simulation etc.)

     Authors are encouraged to submit both theoretical and practical
     results of significance which have not been published elsewhere.
     The proceedings will be published by IEEE.


     Authors are encouraged to submit papers describing tools suitable
     for on-line demonstration. The tools papers will undergo a regular
     review process and will be published in the conference proceedings
     in a dedicated tools section. Separate sessions are planned where
     these tools will be demonstrated on-line. Projection systems
     capable for projecting from laptop screens and videotapes will be
     available. The authors are required to bring any additional
     equipment necessary for demonstration.Questions regarding tools
     track should be directed to the Tools Chair. 
     Submissions should be sent directly to Jane Hilston <jeh@inf.ed.ac.uk>
     by the deadline May 4, 2003.


     Papers must not exceed 20 double-spaced pages with a minimum of
     10-point font and must include an abstract, keywords, authors
     contact information (providing both postal and email addresses).
     Papers must be unpublished original work and must not be submitted

     for publication elsewhere. Authors of both regular and tool papers
     are strongly encouraged to submit their papers in electronic form
     (PDF or PostScript).

     Those unable to use electronic means should mail five (5) complete
     copies of the paper to either Prof. Gabriele Kotsis by May 4th, 2003.

     [-] For Web-based paper registration and submission please
          check: http://www.tk.uni-linz.ac.at/mascots2003



     Proposals for half-day workshops are solicited on
     timely topics related to the above areas. The workshop proposal
     must include a description of topics presented
     and biographies of potential presenters. Send workshop
     proposals directly to the Workshops Chair, Ramon Puigjaner
     <putxi@uib.es> by the deadline May 4, 2003..



     Proposals for tutorials, running for 2 to 3 hours, are solicited on
     timely topics related to the above areas. The tutorial proposal
     must include description and length of the tutorial, breakdown of
     topics, and biographies of the presenters. Send tutorial proposals
     directly to the Tutorials Chair Mariacarla Calzarossa <mcc.unipv.it>

     by the dealine May 4, 2003.


     General Chair
          Erol Gelenbe
          University of Central Florida
     Program Chair
          Gabriele Kotsis
          Telecooperation Department
          Johannes Kepler University Linz
          Altenberger Strasse 69
          A-4040 Linz, Austria
          Phone: +43 732 2468 9238
          Fax:   +43 732 2468 9829
     Workshops Chair
          Ramon Puigjaner
          Univerity of the Baleares (Spain)
     Tools Chair
          Jane Hillston
          University of Edinburgh
          Scotland, UK

     Tutorials Chair
          Mariacarla Calzarossa
          University of Pavia
     Finance Chair
          David Finkel
          Computer Science Department
          Worcester Polytechnic Institute
          100 Institute Road
          Worcester, MA 01609, USA
          Phone: (508) 831-5416
          Fax:   (508) 831-5776

     Publicity Co-Chairs
          Khaled Hussain and Ricardo Lent
          University of Central Florida
     Local Arrangements Chair
          Amy Wedel
          Division of Continuing Education
          University of Central Florida

Program Committee

Dharma P. Agrawal, University of Cincinnatti, USA
Khalid Al-Begain, Bradford University, UK
Mostafa Bassiouni, University of Central Florida, USA
Monique Becker, INT, France
Luciano Bononi, University of Bologna, Italy
Azzeddine Boukerche, University of North Texas, USA
Gregor Bochman, University of Ottawa, Canada
Mariacarla Calzarossa, University of Pavia, Italy
Sajal K. Das, Univ. of Texas at Arlington, USA
Samir Das, University of Cincinnatti, USA
Alois Ferscha, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria
David Finkel, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Jean Michel Fourneau, University of Versailles, France
Ratan Guha, University of Central Florida, USA
Guenter Haring, University of Vienna, Austria
Peter Harrison, Imperial College, UK
Hossam Hossanein, Queens University, Canada
Sungbum Hong, University of North Texas, USA
Alain Jean-Marie, LIRMM, France
Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Darrell Long, UC Santa Cruz, USA
Shikharesh Majumdar, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada
Raymond Marie, IRISA, France
Dan Marinescu, University of Central Florida, USA
Daniel A. Menasce, George Mason University, USA
David Nicol, Dartmouth College, USA
Mohamed Ould-Khaoua, University of Glasgow, UK
Nihal Pekergin, University of Versailles St-Quentin, France
Ramon Puigjaner, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain
William H. Sanders, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign, USA
Mirela Sechi M. A. Notare, Barddal University, SC, Brazil
Krishna Sivalingam, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA
S V Raghavan, IIT Madras, India
Gerardo Rubino, IRISA, France
J. Bosco M. Sobral, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Kishor S. Trivedi, Duke University, USA
Carl Tropper, McGill University, Canada
Salvatore Tucci, University of  Rome II, Italy
Carey Williamson, University of Calgary, Canada
Murray Woodside, Carleton University, Canada
Zhiguang Xu, University of Central Florida, USA
Jason Lin Yi-Bing, National Chiao-Tung Univ. Taiwan
Albert Y. Zomaya, The University of Western Australia